Winners of the 2016 Excellence in Journalism Competition announced!

The Miami Herald won both of Florida Press Club’s top awards in its annual Excellence in Journalism Competition Saturday night for two different series.

Judges awarded the Frances DeVore Award for Public Service to the Miami paper’s series, “Beyond Punishment,” an examination of sex, corruption and cover-ups at the nation’s largest women’s prison. The club’s Lucy Morgan Award for In-Depth Reporting went to the Herald’s series, “City for Sale,” an examination of the widespread corruption in the city of Opa-Locka.

The 65-year-old club also distributed awards for journalists’ work in illustration, online, newspaper design, photography and writing at its annual convention at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in St. Augustine.

For the Full Results:

Editor’s note: Congratulations to all the fantastic winners of this recognition. Florida has a long history of some of the finest reporters and editors in the world. We are honored to have them here to report on our local, national and world news and how it affects our communities. – Linda Hamburger, SFPRN Founder and Moderator

About oncallpr

Award-winning publicist with a proven track record of success in promotions. Founder of the South Florida Public Relations Network ( and On Call PR.

Posted on November 7, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Winners of the 2016 Excellence in Journalism Competition announced!.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: